Hadrians Union

Hadrian’s Union are a five piece Contemporary Folk Rock band from the debatable lands of England and Scotland. The name originates from the locality and mindset of the band, Hadrian's Union (or HU for short) as seperate members are based along various points of Hadrian's Wall, they all come from various music genres (Folk, Punk, Rock, Blues,Celtic, Ska etc) which reflects in the music they create together.

The music is varied and ultimately for the listener all of HU's shows and recordings are an exciting experience. Waltzes, Ballads, Music Hall and drinking songs and so much that you will find in the Union. HU will not be pigeon holed into one category but can often be found at Folk festivals in the loosely termed Folk Rock section, they are at home as much at a rock show as they are in a folk club, and to boot they love a bit of Steampunk too.  

Hadrian's Union have recently finished recording there most adventureous album to date, 'Aural Borderalis', which will be released in Summer 2017. The album is produced by Saul Rose (Faustus,Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band) and is an ecclectic mix of music inspired by the various influences brought to the Union by the members of the band.  

Hadrian’s Union are BBC Folk Award Winners Brian Bell (Bass Guitar also with Whapweasel) & Robin Jowett (Melodeon and Keys),Penny Kempson (Violin & Viola- also with Out of Hand and Random), Dave Pratt on drums with Hadrian's Union founding member Stew Simpson on Guitar and vocals. #woogoo